Thursday, September 17, 2009

Atlanta Falcons

[caption id="attachment_400" align="alignleft" width="100" caption="Click here to buy Falcons products"]Click here to buy Falcons products[/caption]

The Atlanta Falcons are an American football team based in Atlanta, Georgia. They are currently a member of the NFC South division of the National Football Conference (NFC) in the National Football League (NFL). The Falcons joined the NFL in 1965 as an expansion team. In their 43 years of existence, the Falcons have compiled a record of 275–399–6 with division championships in 1980, 1998 and 2004.

The Atlanta Falcons franchise began on June 30, 1965 when NFL Commissioner Pete Rozelle granted ownership to Rankin Smith Sr. The expansion team was awarded the first pick in the 1966 NFL Draft as well as the final pick in each of the first five rounds. The Falcons drafted All-American Linebacker Tommy Nobis from the University of Texas with the first pick of the draft, making him the first-ever Falcon. The league also held the 1966 NFL Expansion Draft six weeks later in which the Falcons selected unprotected players from existing franchises.

See what Dean’s Cards has to offer on their Falcons Team Page!

League/conference affiliations
National Football League (1966–present)

  • Eastern Conference (1966)

  • Western Conference (1967-69)

    • Coastal Division (1967-1969)

  • National Football Conference (1970-present)

    • NFC West (1970-2001)

    • NFC South (2002-present)

Current uniform
Team colorsRed, black, silver, white                   
MascotFreddie Falcon
Team history

  • Atlanta Falcons (1966–present)

League championships (0)
Conference championships (1)

  • NFC: 1998

Division championships (3)

  • NFC West: 1980, 1998

  • NFC South: 2004

Playoff appearances (9)

  • NFL: 1978, 1980, 1982, 1991, 1995, 1998, 2002, 2004, 2008

Home fields

  • Atlanta-Fulton County Stadium (1966-1991)

    • known as Atlanta Stadium (1966-1976)

  • Georgia Dome (1992-present)

No comments:

Post a Comment