Search This Blog


Thursday, September 17, 2009

San Diego Chargers

[caption id="attachment_338" align="alignleft" width="100" caption="Click here to buy Chargers products"]Click here to buy Chargers products[/caption]

The San Diego Chargers are an American Professional Football team based in San Diego, California. They are currently members of the Western Division of the American Football Conference (AFC) in the National Football League (NFL). The club began play in 1960 as a charter member of the American Football League. The club spent its first season in Los Angeles, California before moving to San Diego in 1961. The Chargers play their home games at Qualcomm Stadium.

The Chargers won one AFL title in 1963 and reached the AFL playoffs five times and the AFL Championship four times before joining the NFL (1970) as part of the AFL-NFL Merger. In the 34 years since then, the Chargers have made ten trips to the playoffs and four appearances in the AFC Championship game. At the end of the 1994 season, the Chargers faced the San Francisco 49ers in Super Bowl XXIX and fell 49-26. The Chargers have six players and one coach enshrined in the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio: wide receiver Lance Alworth (1962-1970), defensive end Fred Dean (1975-1981), quarterback Dan Fouts (1973-1987), head coach/general manager Sid Gillman (1960-1969, 1971), wide receiver Charlie Joiner (1976-1986), offensive lineman Ron Mix (1960-1969) and tight end Kellen Winslow (1979-1987).

See what Dean’s Cards has to offer on their Chargers Team Page!

League/conference affiliations
American Football League (1960-1969)

  • Western Division (1960-1969)

National Football League (1970–present)

  • American Football Conference (1970-present)

    • AFC West (1970-present)

Current uniform
Team colorsNavy blue, gold, powder blue, white                   
Fight songSan Diego Super Chargers
Chargers Anthem - P.O.D.
Team history

  • Los Angeles Chargers (1960)

  • San Diego Chargers (1961–present)

Team nicknames
The Bolts
League championships (1)

  • AFL Championships (1)

Conference championships (1)

  • AFC: 1994

Division championships (14)

  • AFL West: 1960, 1961, 1963, 1964, 1965

  • AFC West: 1979, 1980, 1981, 1992, 1994, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2008

Playoff appearances (16)

  • AFL: 1960, 1961, 1963, 1964, 1965

  • NFL: 1979, 1980, 1981, 1982, 1992, 1994, 1995, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2008

Home fields

  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum (1960)

  • Balboa Stadium (1961-1966)

  • Qualcomm Stadium (1967-present)

    • a.k.a. San Diego Stadium (1967-1980)

    • a.k.a. Jack Murphy Stadium (1981-1997)