Wednesday, September 16, 2009

Kansas City Royals

[caption id="attachment_185" align="alignleft" width="100" caption="Click here to buy Royals products"]Click here to buy Royals products[/caption]

The Kansas City Royals are a Major League Baseball team based in Kansas City, Missouri. The Royals are a member of the Central Division of Major League Baseball's American League. From 1973 to the present, the Royals have played in Kauffman Stadium. The Royals have participated in two World Series, winning in 1985. The "Royals" name originates from the American Royal, a livestock show, horse show, and rodeo held annually in Kansas City since 1899.

Entering Major League Baseball as an expansion franchise in 1969, the club was founded by Ewing Kauffman, a Kansas City businessman. The franchise was established following the actions of Stuart Symington, then-United States Senator from Missouri, who demanded a new franchise for the city after the Athletics—Kansas City's previous major league team from 1955 to 1967—moved to Oakland, California.

See what Dean’s Cards has to offer on their Kansas City Royals Team Page!

Retired Numbers5, 10, 20, 42

  • Royal Blue, White, Powder Blue


  • Kansas City Royals (1969–present)

Other nicknames

  • The Boys in Blue


  • Kauffman Stadium (1973–present)

    • a.k.a. Royals Stadium (1973–1993)

  • Municipal Stadium (1969–1972)

Major league titles
World Series titles (1)1985
AL Pennants (2)1985 • 1980
Central Division titles (0)None
West Division titles (6) [1]1985 • 1984 • 1980 • 1978
1977 • 1976
Wild card berths (0)None

No comments:

Post a Comment