Thursday, September 17, 2009

Miami Dolphins

[caption id="attachment_352" align="alignleft" width="100" caption="Click here to buy Dolphins products"]Click here to buy Dolphins products[/caption]

The Miami Dolphins are a professional football team based in the Miami, Florida metropolitan area. They play home games at Land Shark Stadium, in the suburb of Miami Gardens. They are headquartered at the Miami Dolphins Training Facility in Davie, Florida. The Dolphins belong to the Eastern Division of the American Football Conference (AFC) in the National Football League (NFL). The Dolphins were founded by Joseph Robbie, began play in the American Football League as an expansion team in 1966, an example of that seminal league's expanding the sport to areas that were not then represented. Miami joined the NFL as part of the AFL-NFL merger. The Dolphins are the oldest major-league professional sports franchise in the state of Florida.

For most of their history, the Dolphins were coached by Don Shula, the most successful head coach in professional football history. His Dolphins teams posted losing records in only two of his 26 seasons with the club. Six future Hall of Fame members played for Miami during the 1970s, including running back Larry Csonka and quarterback Bob Griese. During the 1980s and 1990s quarterback Dan Marino became the most prolific passer in NFL history, breaking numerous league passing records. He led the Dolphins to five division titles, 10 playoff appearances and Super Bowl XIX before retiring after the 1999 season.

See what Dean’s Cards has to offer on their Dolphins Team Page!

League/conference affiliations
American Football League (1966–1969)

  • Eastern Division (1966–1969)

National Football League (1970–present)

  • American Football Conference (1970–present)

    • AFC East (1970–present)

Current uniform
Team colorsAqua, coral, navy blue, white                   
MascotT. D.
Team history

  • Miami Dolphins (1966–present)

Team nicknames
The Fins/Phins & The Fish (though dolphins are marine mammals)
League championships (2)

  • Super Bowl Championships (2)
    1972 (VII), 1973 (VIII)

Conference championships (5)

  • AFC: 1971, 1972, 1973, 1982, 1984

Division championships (13)

  • AFC East: 1971, 1972, 1973, 1974, 1979, 1981, 1983, 1984, 1985, 1992, 1994, 2000, 2008

Playoff appearances (22)

  • NFL: 1970, 1971, 1972, 1973, 1974, 1978, 1979, 1981, 1982, 1983, 1984, 1985, 1990, 1992, 1994, 1995, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2008

Home fields

  • Miami Orange Bowl (1966–1986)

  • Land Shark Stadium (1987–present)

    • a.k.a. Joe Robbie Stadium (1987–1996)

    • a.k.a. Pro Player Stadium (1997–2004)

    • a.k.a. Dolphins Stadium (2005)

    • a.k.a. Dolphin Stadium (2006-2009)

No comments:

Post a Comment