Thursday, September 17, 2009

Kansas City Chiefs

[caption id="attachment_345" align="alignleft" width="100" caption="Click here to buy Chiefs products"]Click here to buy Chiefs products[/caption]

The Kansas City Chiefs are a professional American football team based in Kansas City, Missouri. The Chiefs are a member of the Western Division of the American Football Conference (AFC) in the National Football League (NFL). Originally named the Dallas Texans, the club was founded by Lamar Hunt in 1960 as a charter member of the American Football League (AFL). In 1963, the team moved to Kansas City, Missouri and were renamed the Kansas City Chiefs. The team is legally and corporately registered as Kansas City Chiefs Football Club, Incorporated and according to Forbes is valued at just over USD $1 billion.

From 1960 to 1969, the Chiefs were a successful franchise in the AFL, winning three league championships (1962, 1966, 1969) and having an all-time AFL record of 92–50–5. The Chiefs were the second AFL team (after the New York Jets) to defeat an NFL franchise in an AFL–NFL World Championship Game when they defeated the Minnesota Vikings in Super Bowl IV. Despite their early success, the team's victory on January 11, 1970 in Super Bowl IV remains the club's last championship to date.

See what Dean’s Cards has to offer on their Chiefs Team Page!

League/conference affiliations
American Football League (1960–1969)

  • Western Division (1960–1969)

National Football League (1970–present)

  • American Football Conference (1970–present)

    • AFC West (1970–present)

Current uniform
Team colorsRed, gold         
MascotK. C. Wolf (1989–present)Warpaint (1963–1988)
Team history

  • Dallas Texans (1960–1962)

  • Kansas City Chiefs (1963–present)

League championships (3)†

  • AFL Championships (3)
    1962, 1966, 1969

  • AFL-NFL Super Bowl Championships (1)
    1969 (IV)

Conference championships (0)
Division championships (7)

  • AFL West: 1962, 1966

  • AFC West: 1971, 1993, 1995, 1997, 2003

† - Does not include the AFL or NFL Championships won during the same seasons as the AFL-NFL Super Bowl Championships prior to the 1970 AFL-NFL Merger
Playoff appearances (15)

  • AFL: 1962, 1966, 1968, 1969

  • NFL: 1971, 1986, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1997, 2003, 2006

Home fields

  • Cotton Bowl (1960–1962)

  • Municipal Stadium (1963–1971)

  • Arrowhead Stadium (1972–present)

Team owner(s)

  • Lamar Hunt (1959–2006)

  • The Hunt Family (2006–present)

No comments:

Post a Comment