Thursday, September 17, 2009

Washington Nationals

[caption id="attachment_285" align="alignleft" width="100" caption="Click here to buy Blue Jays products"]Click here to buy Blue Jays products[/caption]

The Washington Nationals are a professional baseball team based in Washington, D.C., United States. The Nationals are a member of the Eastern Division of Major League Baseball's National League. The team moved into the newly-built Nationals Park in 2008, after playing their first three seasons in RFK Stadium. The new park is located in Southeast D.C. near the Anacostia River and with views of the Capitol. The Nationals name originates from the two former Washington baseball teams who held the same name (used interchangeably with Senators). They are nicknamed "the Nats," a shortened version of the Nationals name that was also used by the old D.C. teams.

An expansion franchise, the club was founded in Montreal, Quebec in 1969. The then-Montreal Expos were the first major league team in Canada. They played their home games at Jarry Park Stadium and later in the Olympic Stadium. The Expos had its highest winning percentage in the strike-shortened season of 1994, when it had the best record in baseball. The team's subsequent shedding of players caused fan interest to drop off. After the 2001 season, Major League Baseball considered revoking the team's franchise, along with either the Minnesota Twins or the Tampa Bay Devil Rays. After being purchased by MLB in 2002, the team was moved before the 2005 season to Washington, becoming the Nationals. This was the first complete name change for a relocating team in Major League Baseball since 1972, when the Washington Senators left D.C. to become the Texas Rangers.

See what Dean’s Cards has to offer on their Nationals Team Page!


Retired Numbers42

  • Red, Navy Blue, Gold, White


  • Washington Nationals (2005–present)

  • Montreal Expos (1969-2004)

Other nicknames

  • The Nats


  • Nationals Park (2008–present)

  • RFK Memorial Stadium (2005-2007)

  • Hiram Bithorn Stadium (San Juan) (2003-2004)

  • Olympic Stadium (Montreal) (1977-2004)

  • Jarry Park (Montreal) (1969-1976)

Major league titles
World Series titles (0)None
NL Pennants (0)None
East Division titles (1)1981

No comments:

Post a Comment