Wednesday, September 16, 2009

Chicago White Sox

[caption id="attachment_193" align="alignleft" width="100" caption="Click here to buy White Sox products"]Click here to buy White Sox products[/caption]

The Chicago White Sox are a Major League Baseball team based in Chicago, Illinois. The White Sox play in the American League's Central Division. Since 1991, the White Sox have played in U.S. Cellular Field, which was originally called New Comiskey Park and nicknamed The Cell by local fans. The White Sox are one of two major league clubs based in Chicago, the other being the Chicago Cubs of the National League. The White Sox last won the World Series in 2005.

One of the American League's eight charter franchises, the Chicago team was established as a major league baseball club in 1901. The club was originally called the Chicago White Stockings, after the nickname abandoned by the Cubs, and the name was soon shortened to Chicago White Sox. At this time, the team played their home games at South Side Park. In 1910, the team moved into historic Comiskey Park, which they would inhabit for more than eight decades.

See what Dean’s Cards has to offer on their Chicago White Sox Team Page!


Retired Numbers2, 3, 4, 9, 11, 16, 19, 42, 72

  • Black, Silver, White


  • Chicago White Sox (1904–present)

  • (Chicago) White Stockings (1900-1903)

*From 1900 to 1903, the official name did not contain the city name of Chicago, although it was based there

  • St. Paul Saints (1895-1899)

  • Sioux City Cornhuskers (1894)

Other nicknames

  • The Sox, The ChiSox, The South Siders, The Pale Hose


  • U.S. Cellular Field (1991–present)

    • a.k.a. Comiskey Park (II) (1991-2003)

  • Milwaukee County Stadium (1968, 1969)

  • Comiskey Park (I) (1910-1990)

    • a.k.a. White Sox Park (1910-1912 & 1962-1975)

  • South Side Park (III) (1900-1910)

    • a.k.a. White Stockings Park (1900-1903)

(The White Sox played selected home games in Milwaukee in 1968 and 1969)
Major league titles
World Series titles (3)2005 • 1917 • 1906
AL Pennants (7)2005 • 1959 • 1919 • 1917
1906 • 1901 • 1900 •
WL Pennants (1)1894
Central Division titles (3) [1]2008 • 2005 • 2000
West Division titles (2)1993 • 1983

No comments:

Post a Comment