Wednesday, September 16, 2009

Minnesota Twins

[caption id="attachment_190" align="alignleft" width="100" caption="Click here to buy Twins products"]Click here to buy Twins products[/caption]

The Minnesota Twins are an American professional baseball team based in Minneapolis, Minnesota, and play in the Central Division of Major League Baseball's American League. The team is named after the Twin Cities area of Minneapolis and St. Paul, Minnesota. They have played in the Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome since 1982, but will move to the new Target Field in 2010.

One of the American League's eight charter franchises, the club was founded in Washington, D.C. in 1901 as the Washington Senators. In 1905, the team changed its official name to the Washington Nationals. The name "Nationals" appeared on uniforms for only 2 seasons, and was then replaced with the "W" logo for the next 52 years. The media often shortened the nickname to "Nats". Many fans and newspapers (especially out-of-town papers) persisted in using the "Senators" nickname. Over time, "Nationals" faded as a nickname, and "Senators" became dominant. Baseball guides listed the club's nickname as "Nationals or Senators", acknowledging the dual-nickname situation.

The team name was officially changed to Washington Senators around the time that long-time team president Clark Griffith died and his son Calvin took over the team. It was not until 1959 that the word "Senators" first appeared on team shirts. "Nats" continued to be used by space-saving headline writers, even for the 1961 expansion team, which was never officially known as "Nationals".

See what Dean’s Cards has to offer on their Minnesota Twins Team Page!


Retired Numbers3, 6, 14, 29, 34, 42

  • Navy Blue, Red, White


  • Minnesota Twins (1961–present)

  • Washington Nationals/Senators (1901–1960)

  • Kansas City Blues (1894–1900)

Other nicknames

  • The Twinkies


  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome (1982–2009)

  • Metropolitan Stadium (1961–1981)

  • Griffith Stadium (1911–1960)

    • a.k.a. National Park (1911–1920)

  • National Park (1903–1910)

  • American League Park (1901–1902)

Major league titles
World Series titles (3)1991 • 1987 • 1924 
AL Pennants (6)1991 • 1987 • 1965 • 1933 • 1925 • 1924 
Central Division titles (4)2006 • 2004 • 2003 • 2002
West Division titles (4)1991 • 1987 • 1970 • 1969

No comments:

Post a Comment