Friday, September 18, 2009

New Orleans Saints

[caption id="attachment_423" align="alignleft" width="100" caption="Click here to buy Saints products"]Click here to buy Saints products[/caption]

The New Orleans Saints are a professional American football team based in New Orleans, Louisiana. The Saints play in the South Division of the National Football Conference (NFC) in the National Football League (NFL).

The Saints were founded in 1967, as an expansion team. They went more than a decade before they managed to finish a season with a .500 record and two decades before having a winning season. The team's first successful years were from 1987–1992, when the team made the playoffs four times and had winning records in the non-playoff seasons. In the 2000 season, the Saints defeated the then-defending Super Bowl champion St. Louis Rams for the team's first playoff win.

See what Dean’s Cards has to offer on their Saints Team Page!

League/conference affiliations
National Football League (1967–present)

  • Eastern Conference (1967-1969)

    • Capitol Division (1967; 1969)

    • Century Division (1968)

  • National Football Conference (1970-present)

    • NFC West (1970-2001)

    • NFC South (2002-present)

Current uniform
Team colorsBlack, old gold, white              
MascotGumbo the dog and Sir Saint
Team history

  • New Orleans Saints (1967–present)

League championships (0)
Conference championships (0)
Division championships (3)

  • NFC West: 1991, 2000

  • NFC South: 2006

Playoff appearances (6)

  • NFL: 1987, 1990, 1991, 1992, 2000, 2006

Home fields

  • Tulane Stadium (1967-1974)

  • Louisiana Superdome (1975-2004, 2006-present)

  • Temporary stadiums in 2005 due to the effects of Hurricane Katrina:

    • Tiger Stadium (Four Games)

    • Alamodome (Three Games)

    • Giants Stadium (One Game)

No comments:

Post a Comment