Thursday, September 17, 2009

New York Mets

[caption id="attachment_280" align="alignleft" width="100" caption="Click here to buy Mets products"]Click here to buy Mets products[/caption]

The New York Mets are a professional baseball team based in the borough of Queens in New York City, New York. The Mets are a member of the East Division of Major League Baseball's National League. For the first two years of its existence, the team played its home games at the historic Polo Grounds in Upper Manhattan, which it shared with the New York Jets. In 1964, both teams moved into newly constructed Shea Stadium, where the Mets stayed through the 2008 season. In 2009, the club moved into Citi Field, located adjacent to the former site of Shea Stadium.

The Mets were founded as an expansion franchise in 1960 and began play in 1962. The club came into existence as a replacement for New York's two previous National League teams, the Brooklyn Dodgers and New York Giants, who relocated to California following the 1957 season. As an interesting historical note, there was an earlier baseball club called the New York Metropolitans which played in the short-lived American Association during the 1880s. While the defunct 19th century team is not related to the current incarnation of the Mets, its moniker did serve as the inspiration for the modern day National League franchise.

See what Dean’s Cards has to offer on their Mets Team Page!



Retired Numbers14, 37, 41, 42, Shea

  • Blue, Orange, White, Black


  • New York Mets (1962–present)

Other nicknames

  • The Amazin' Mets, The Amazins, The Metropolitans


  • Citi Field (2009-present)

  • Shea Stadium (1964–2008)

  • Polo Grounds (1962–1963)

Major league titles
World Series titles (2)1969 • 1986
NL Pennants (4)1969 • 1973 • 1986 • 2000
East Division titles (5)1969 • 1973 • 1986 • 1988 
Wild card berths (2)1999 • 2000

No comments:

Post a Comment