Thursday, September 17, 2009

Tampa Bay Buccaneers

[caption id="attachment_390" align="alignleft" width="100" caption="Click here to buy Buccaneers products"]Click here to buy Buccaneers products[/caption]

The Tampa Bay Buccaneers (often shortened as the Bucs) are a professional American football team based in Tampa, Florida. They are currently members of the Southern Division of the National Football Conference (NFC) in the National Football League (NFL). The team, along with the Seattle Seahawks, joined the NFL in 1976 as expansion teams. They played their first season in the AFC West as part of the 1976 expansion plan. After the season, they switched divisions with the Seattle Seahawks and became part of the NFC. The club is currently owned by Malcolm Glazer and coached by head coach Raheem Morris. When the franchise entered the league in 1976, the Buccaneers lost their first 26 games. After a brief winning era in the late 1970s and early 1980s, the team suffered through fourteen consecutive losing seasons. Since 1997 they have been consistent playoff contenders, and won Super Bowl XXXVII at the end of the 2002 season.

See what Dean’s Cards has to offer on their Buccaneers Team Page!

League/conference affiliations
National Football League (1976–present)

  • American Football Conference (1976)

    • AFC West (1976)

  • National Football Conference (1977-present)

    • NFC Central (1977-2001)

    • NFC South (2002-present)

Current uniform
Team colorsRed, pewter, black, orange, white                        
MascotCaptain Fear
Team history

  • Tampa Bay Buccaneers (1976–present)

Team nicknames
The Bucs, Pewter Pirates
League championships (1)

  • Super Bowl Championships (1)
    2002 (XXXVII)

Conference championships (1)

  • NFC: 2002

Division championships (6)

  • NFC Central: 1979, 1981, 1999

  • NFC South: 2002, 2005, 2007

Playoff appearances (10)

  • NFL: 1979, 1981, 1982, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2005, 2007

Home fields

  • Tampa Stadium (1976-1997)

    • a.k.a. Houlihan's Stadium (1996-1997)

  • Raymond James Stadium (1998-present)

No comments:

Post a Comment