Wednesday, September 16, 2009

San Diego Padres

[caption id="attachment_232" align="alignleft" width="100" caption="Click here to buy Padres products"]Click here to buy Padres products[/caption]

The San Diego Padres are a Major League Baseball team based in San Diego, California. They play in the National League Western Division. Founded in 1969, the Padres have won the National League Pennant twice, in 1984 and 1998, losing in the World Series both times.

The Padres adopted their name from the Pacific Coast League team which arrived in San Diego in 1936. That minor league franchise won the PCL title in 1937, led by then-18-year-old San Diegan Ted Williams.

See what Dean’s Cards has to offer on their Padres Team Page!


Retired Numbers6, 19, 31, 35, 42

  • Navy Blue, Sand, White


  • San Diego Padres (1969–present)

Other nicknames

  • The Pad Squad, The Pads, The Friars, The Fathers, My Father


  • PETCO Park (2004–present)

  • Qualcomm Stadium (1969–2003)

    • a.k.a. Jack Murphy Stadium (1980–1997)

    • a.k.a. San Diego Stadium (1969–1980)

Major league titles
World Series titles (0) 
NL Pennants (2)1998 • 1984
West Division titles (5)2006 • 2005 • 1998 • 1996 • 1984

No comments:

Post a Comment