Wednesday, September 16, 2009

Florida Marlins

[caption id="attachment_227" align="alignleft" width="100" caption="Click here to buy Marlins products"]Click here to buy Marlins products[/caption]

The Florida Marlins are a professional baseball team based in Miami Gardens, Florida, United States. Established in 1993 as an expansion franchise, the Marlins are a member of the Eastern Division of Major League Baseball's National League. The Marlins play their home games at Land Shark Stadium, also home to the Miami Dolphins and the Miami Hurricanes.

The Marlins are notable for winning the World Series twice (1997, 2003) during the only two times they've made it to the postseason. They won despite never winning first place in their division, advancing to the playoffs both times as the National League Wild Card winner. They are the only team to have won all of their postseason series to date.

See what Dean’s Cards has to offer on their Marlins Team Page!


Retired Numbers5, 42

  • Black, Teal, Silver, White


  • Florida Marlins (1993–present)

Other nicknames

  • The Fish, The Boys in Teal, The Fightin' Fish


  • Land Shark Stadium (1993–present)

  • a.k.a. Joe Robbie Stadium (1993–1996)

  • a.k.a. Pro Player Park (1996)

  • a.k.a. Pro Player Stadium (1996–2005)

  • a.k.a. Dolphins Stadium (2005–2006)

  • a.k.a. Dolphin Stadium (2007–2008)

Major league titles
World Series titles (2)1997 • 2003
NL Pennants (2)1997 • 2003
East Division titles (0)None
Wild card berths (2)1997 • 2003

No comments:

Post a Comment