Wednesday, September 16, 2009

Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim

[caption id="attachment_140" align="alignleft" width="100" caption="Click here to buy Angels products"]Angels Logo[/caption]

The Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim are a professional baseball team based in Anaheim, California. The Angels are a member of the Western Division of Major League Baseball's American League. The "Angels" name originates from the city that was their original home, Los Angeles. The Angels have been based in Angel Stadium of Anaheim since 1966.

In 2005, new owner Arte Moreno wanted to include "Los Angeles" in the team's name, in order to better tap into the Los Angeles media market, the second largest in the country. In compliance with the terms of its lease with the city of Anaheim, which required "Anaheim" be a part of the team's name, the team was renamed to Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim. Hotly disputed when initially announced, the change was eventually upheld in court and the city dropped the suit in 2009, though the team usually refers to itself as simply the Angels in its home media market.

See what Dean's Cards has to offer on their Angels team page!


Retired Numbers11, 26, 29, 30, 42, 50

  • Red, Navy Blue, White               


  • Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim (2005–present)

  • Anaheim Angels (1997-2004)

  • California Angels (September 2, 1965-1996)

  • Los Angeles Angels (1961-September 1, 1965)

Other nicknames

  • The Halos, The Wings, The Seraphs, Los Angelitos, Los Serafines


  • Angel Stadium of Anaheim (2004–present)

    • a.k.a. Edison International Field (1998-2003)

    • a.k.a. Anaheim Stadium (1966-1997)

  • Chavez Ravine (Los Angeles) (1962-1965)

    • a.k.a. Dodger Stadium

  • Wrigley Field (Los Angeles) (1961)

Major league titles
World Series titles (1)2002
AL Pennants (1)2002
West Division titles (7)2008 • 2007 • 2005 • 2004 • 1986
1982 • 1979
Wild card berths (1)2002

No comments:

Post a Comment